COVID-19 Crisis Response Fund of the Greater Evansville Region

Early Fund Adopters
Chapman Family Foundation
Bob and Lisa Jones
Hamman Foundation
Bussing-Koch Foundation
Dan & Scherri Arens
Romain family

Funds Committed

Interested in donating?

More ways to donate to the cause

  1. Cash and Check donations are accepted at all Old National Bank and Heritage Federal Credit Union branches. Please reference “COVID-19 Crisis Response” with your donation.
    • Check should be made payable to United Way of Southwestern Indiana and reference COVID-19 Crisis Response Fund of the Greater Evansville Region (or GERF for short) in the memo
  2. Send a payment to:
    United Way of Southwestern Indiana
    318 Main Street, Suite 504

    Evansville, IN 47708
  3. For Stock or ACH payment please call 812-421-7476 
  4. By texting “dowhatyoucan” to 41444

Interested in applying for funding?

Funds will be distributed to 501(c)3 nonprofit organizations who are currently in good standing with the IRS and whose service area includes the 5-county region (Gibson, Posey, Spencer, Vanderburgh, and Warrick).

About the fund

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, funding partners established a cross-sector, community wide COVID-19 Response Fund of the Greater Evansville Region, primarily Gibson, Posey, Spencer, Vanderburgh and Warrick Counties. This response is designed to serve the community through the relief, recovery, and restoration phases typical of large-scale crises to catalyze hope in a time that perpetuates hopelessness and isolation.

All partners involved agree that the current priority is to ensure responsiveness in the human services sector so that individuals and families in need are supported during this pandemic, especially vulnerable and at-risk populations.

We are pleased to announce the Fund is now adding to our Relief efforts the phases of Recovery and Restoration, providing both stabilizing support to vulnerable agencies and investment to reimagine how nonprofits can serve our communities for years to come.

As the crisis unfolds, we want to assure you, as a valued donor, that United Way of Southwestern Indiana, along with the Fund Advisory and Allocation Committees, will be working to identify and address the most critical needs in our communities.

The founding fund partners invite the broader community to contribute to the COVID-19 Crisis Response Fund as a primary and strategic vehicle designed to meet our community’s needs in the short, mid, and long term (18 month horizon).

The Fund was launched on Friday 3/27/20 with over $1,000,000.00 committed by individual donors and initial partners. These first gifts were intended to be catalytic in creating confidence that this is a strategic united effort across multiple sectors of our community.

United Way of Southwestern Indiana has generously agreed to be the fiscal sponsor so that donations can be tax deductible.  Further, none of the donations will be retained by the United Way and no administrative cost will be charged to the fund. Any unused funds will be used to establish a future community crisis response fund.

Fund Advisory and Allocation Committees with members from broad-reaching, representative organizations and leaders across the region are working to identify organizations to which the fund will make contributions. The committees will make timely and informed grant-making decisions which will be openly communicated and that there will be multiple rounds of investment based on evolving needs over time. Organizations receiving grants will be required to report on use of the monies granted. We  launched the application for organizations on Friday, April 3. Please click here for more information about the application.

Simple Definitions:
Relief – meet immediate need, a temporary fix for now
Recovery – a transitional foothold, for a ‘new normal’
Restoration – a transformational foundation, for what’s next

Allocations Committee Members

Serita Cabell
Executive Director, Memorial Community Development Corporation

John Campbell
Reg. Program Director of Gibson and Posey Counties, Community Foundation Alliance

Amy Casavant
VP of Volunteer and Sustainability Programs, Old National Bank Foundation

Emily Davis
Reg. Program Director of Spencer County, Community Foundation Alliance

Sidney Hardgrave
Reg. Program Director of Warrick & Vanderburgh Counties, Community Foundation Alliance

Luzada Hayes
Director of Community Impact, United Way of Southwestern Indiana

Andrea Hays
Program Officer –HEAL/Promise Zone, Welborn Baptist Foundation

*Candice Perry
Nonprofit Excellence Program Officer, Welborn Baptist Foundation

Johnathan Pope
Executive Director/CEO, YMCA SWIN

*Stephanie Roland
Community Development Manager, Old National Bank

Jamie Schafer
Executive Director, United Way of Gibson County

Amanda Schmitt
Community Relations Manager, Vectren –A CenterPoint Energy Company

Patricia Weinzapfel
Executive Director of Community Schools and Engagement, EVSC

Keely Winiger
Executive Director, United Way of Posey County


Advisory Committee Members

*Bill Bussing
Attorney, Convener Southern Indiana Grantmakers

*Amy Canterbury
President/CEO, United Way of Southwest Indiana

*Jill Carpenter
CEO, Community Foundation Alliance

Ross Chapman
Founder & President, For Evansville

*Carl Chapman
Retired CEO/Chairman Vectren

*Pat Creech
Executive Director/CEO, Welborn Baptist Foundation

Dr. Ron Dempsey
President, Oakland City University

Matt Eckert
President & CEO, Holiday World & Splashin’Safari

Kathy Ettensohn
Partner, Harding Shymanski

Gina Gibson
CEO, Evansville Christian Life Center

*Tiffannie Hedin
Corporate Communications Analyst, Philanthropic Officer, Toyota

Beth McFadin Higgins
Attorney  – McFaddin, Higgins & Folz

*Bob Jones
Retired CEO/Chairman ONB: Fund Champion

Richard Leger
VP of IN/OH, Centerpoint Energy

Rick Moore
CEO, Evansville Housing Authority

*Howard Nevins
Chairman/CEO, InterraChem

Pete Paradossi
President, Evansville Regional Business Committee

Chris Pietruszkiewicz
President, University of Evansville

Rev. Larry Rascoe
Pastor, Nazarene Missionary Baptist Church, Evansville

Ron Rochon
President, University of Southern Indiana

Ron Romain
CEO, United Companies

*Kathy Schoettlin
Chief Culture & Social Responsibility Officer, Old National Bank

*Jennifer Slade
Secretary, Koch Foundation

Daniela Vidal
Chancellor of Ivy Tech Campus, Evansville

*Jeff Whiteside
Executive Director, Talent 2025

Mayor Lloyd Winnecke
City of Evansville

Mayor Greg Wright
City of Princeton

Mayor Charlie Wyatt
City of Boonville

* Executive Committee Member

Got Questions?

We’ve developed a few resources to help answer common questions and provide resources for individuals and organizations.

Still got questions? Email